social network sites that combine social network sites

theantisocial.me
view screenshot on flickr
open http://www.theantisocial.me


There’s only 1 thing more confusing than new social network sites: New sites that combine all your social sites into another one.

I signed up for VIRB a while ago and it looked like a great idea to combine all my networks into one profile. But I hardly ever visit the site anymore. Then there’s Posterous. A great way of posting content via email. Clearly a very clever idea for people who are fed up with writing content in any type of blogging software or admin interface.

My main issue with these is that they are essentially only different networks using your content from other ones and sometimes adding more ways of connecting with people in that new network. I don’t know about anyone else, but there’s only a certain amount of networking that I’m capable of. If I would try to keep 10+ social networks up to date with my information (and actually interact with the people on them), I wouldn’t have time to do anything else.

Yes, I could post on all the sites thanks to all the different ways of connecting one to the other. But that’s not exactly the point of a social network, is it? (I do realize that this gets posted on my twitter automatically… Shhhh!)

To celebrate the pointlessness of this type of posting I created theantisocial.me:

A webapp where you can submit your message anonymously and it’ll never be shown on the site. It does get saved so it’s not lost! But just like posting something without really contributing – it’s pretty much pointless.

Published by

attilaacs

I've always been interested in all kinds of art because I felt the need to express myself in many different ways. I paint, draw, create 3D models, motion graphics & designs of all sorts, play guitar, love photography and whatever else is in between... I was born in Hungary and lived in Hungary, Germany, Australia and the UK for a number of years. I speak German, English and a little Hungarian (I'm working on improving that one again!).

Leave a Reply

