Just finished moving my blog posts to wordpress.com

my oldschool bike

I’m getting good at exporting and importing blog content in all sorts of systems now… After recently moving everything to Movable Type, I’m trying wordpress.com now. Mainly because I want to use Movable Type for managing my main content of my websites and I wanted something else for writing up things and posting flickr updates. Something that’s not hosted on my server so there’s no need to update and maintain anything except for content.

In order to move my posts and comments I exported everything and used the resulting textfile to search/replace relative links. I put in the absolute links to my main website attilaacs.com so that the downloads and images still work.

It was all a matter of minutes! As a final touch I added 301 redirects using php to the old entries (thanks to Movable Type’s structure, this was very quick and easy) and now all categories, archives and posts get redirected to wordpress.com…

Simple.

Published by

attilaacs

I've always been interested in all kinds of art because I felt the need to express myself in many different ways. I paint, draw, create 3D models, motion graphics & designs of all sorts, play guitar, love photography and whatever else is in between... I was born in Hungary and lived in Hungary, Germany, Australia and the UK for a number of years. I speak German, English and a little Hungarian (I'm working on improving that one again!).

5 thoughts on “Just finished moving my blog posts to wordpress.com”

  1. Looks nice, clean & simple!

    Two things I don’t like:
    – posting-categories under the postings title are linked against general WordPress.com categories and not “inside” your blog only.
    – There’s no way to reach the blog archives, other than via the iPhone on the mobile version of the site.

  2. I was looking into WordPress.com, mainly being influenced by your argument of not having to take care of anything but content, but I discovered, that there are a few things that make me want to keep my self-hosted version:

    – Moving my Domain over here costs money. Shit! I already pay for my Domain and my server, so that’s a no go!

    – They inject Google Ads into your posts/pages. If I wanted ads on my blog, I’d use my own Google Account to at least earn the money myself. But I decided to take them down on my private site.

    – The category thing mentioned above.

    …well, after all I guess I’ll just stick with what I have until I can no longer stand the look of it 😉

    1. Yes I was looking at that too (the reason why I didn’t go with vox.com [Movable Type] is because their ads are too obnoxious).

      I think the ads on here are still ok (just!). There are a few options to have less random things like “related posts on other blogs” but I’m not too fussed about that right now. The fact that I don’t have to maintain things with each software update (and fix broken custom templates) outweighs this for me at the moment… I’m sure I’ll sooner or later change my mind but until then I hope it’s “happy blogging” 😀

      I’ve got enough fixing to do at work right now so I don’t need that at home too! hehe

      1. Yea, I can totally see where you’re coming from and that’s why I was thinking about moving as well!
        But at the moment it’s less fuzz to leave things as they are until they truly break apart, than to convert, set-up & move everything to a different place 😉

Leave a Reply

