iPhoto 6… Time to move on

Once again, iPhoto crapped out on me and the usual recovery methods like replacing the database file, rebuild the library will not work. Redoing the whole library with all the albums is not an option for me anymore!
iPhoto 7? No, thanks. It does look nice and everything, but I’ll choose either Photoshop Lightroom or Apple Aperture. And after my bad experiences with Apple’s Software I decided to give Lightroom a try first. I’ve seen some of Apertures features a while back at SAE Byron. After trying Photoshop Lightroom for a day, I prefer the latter because of the adjustment options, the import procedure and the tight integration with the other Adobe products.
I uploaded a web gallery from our trip to Prague.
Prague


Creating web galleries seems to be one of the main drawbacks of Lightroom. Ok, it can create Flash or HTML galleries (while Aperture only creates HTML) but I’m not a big fan of Flash based galleries anyway.
And setting up your own template (beyond just selecting a preset and adjusting colors) seems to be time consuming and/or almost impossible to do. The only extra templates I got working in Lightroom 1.1 are the ones from Adobe and they happen to be Flash galleries.
All I wanted to do is to create a template that works with my blog. But I couldn’t get anything to work in LR 1.1.
Also, Lightroom’s API did not get released yet and therefore you can’t get exporters for flickr (although there is a workaround), facebook or any other 3rd party gallery.
I’ll keep testing it and decide soon which one I will use in the future and hopefully save a lot of harddrive space since unlike iPhoto, they don’t save new pictures with the edits.

Published by

attilaacs

I've always been interested in all kinds of art because I felt the need to express myself in many different ways. I paint, draw, create 3D models, motion graphics & designs of all sorts, play guitar, love photography and whatever else is in between... I was born in Hungary and lived in Hungary, Germany, Australia and the UK for a number of years. I speak German, English and a little Hungarian (I'm working on improving that one again!).

One thought on “iPhoto 6… Time to move on”

  1. hi,
    I have chosen LR 1.1 – it’s fits my needs and uses less processor power then aperture.
    and the main reason I chose LR is, that its also available for windows – which opens my possibilities a little bit.
    normal pcs are much cheaper with more power under the hood 😉
    so lets see what you will choose

Leave a Reply

