The trip from Brisbane to London

Gatwick ExpressWe finally arrived in London yesterday. We’re pretty tired but excited to finally be in Europe.
A few photos here.
The first flights with Emirates (from Brisbane to Singapore and then to Dubai) were by far the worst I’ve ever been on! I used to love Emirates for their service, nice planes and decent food but that one flight (or two…) must’ve been their worst ever. The staff was unfriendly, the food was horrible, the plane was late and in really bad condition (seat covers peeling off, sticky and dirty plastic parts), the plane was PACKED and I sat next to a guy who was too wide for the seats. Dealing with that (plus other annoyances like crying babies all around us) for about 13-14 hours when all you want is to watch a few movies and fall asleep, is less than impressive.


However, the flight form Dubai to London (almost) made up for it. After almost missing the boarding (since our last flight was late and Emirates Airport staff didn’t really seem to bother with the connecting flights to Gatwick), we were in a newer plane (but same model).
One more thing about the staff at Dubai Airport: if you don’t bother them twice, you simply miss your flight. My first enquiry for our connecting flight was completely useless as the arrogant reply was something along the lines of “Just wait in line, sir.”. Not an answer to my initial question at all. Maybe that would’ve been useful for people who can’t read signs but I happen to not fall into that category.
So my second (and more aggressive) attempt finally resulted in us skipping the queue and going through security before running from gate 14 to 41 (no, that’s NOT close!).
The flight was half full so we had plenty of space to lay down and stretch out. The entertainment system was the newer “ICE” system with on-demand content that you can pause and rewind at any time. The staff was friendly, the food was nice, the plane was in good shape… Pretty much what I was used to from Emirates.
Shit!! I didn’t mean to write this much. So I’ll just skip some more details because Fi is writing the extended version (which I will start to put up soon!). In the future I will try to post shorter posts here and mostly just as links to the gallery.

Published by

attilaacs

I've always been interested in all kinds of art because I felt the need to express myself in many different ways. I paint, draw, create 3D models, motion graphics & designs of all sorts, play guitar, love photography and whatever else is in between... I was born in Hungary and lived in Hungary, Germany, Australia and the UK for a number of years. I speak German, English and a little Hungarian (I'm working on improving that one again!).

2 thoughts on “The trip from Brisbane to London”

  1. Oh, I can so relate to that running along Dubai Airport gates trying to get onboard your flight! *lol*
    …sooooooon, there’ll be an awesome schnitzel night – I’m starting to get excited 🙂

Leave a Reply

