Automatically save screenshots in OS X as .JPG

Did you ever want to send a quick screenshot to your buddy on iChat or MSN? And you maybe even went through converting processes and needed a graphics software to compress the image…
Once you figured out how to take a screenshot in OS X (command+shift 3 or 4) and save it into a file, you might have noticed that the default file format is png. In case you live in an area where 128kbps is considered broadband 😉 you might want to convert that file to jpg. Some might open up Photoshop already or use one of the converting scripts or create your own, but wait! You can do better:
Open up Terminal (Applications/Utilities/Terminal) and type in:

defaults write com.apple.screencapture type jpg

And restart in to see the changes. If you want to set it back to the default (why would you want that now?) just type in:

defaults write com.apple.screencapture type png

Since I changed mine a while ago, this saved me a lot of time and disk space. Nw I drag the created files directly into messengers or any application that I might use. And I never have to worry about huge files.

Published by

attilaacs

I've always been interested in all kinds of art because I felt the need to express myself in many different ways. I paint, draw, create 3D models, motion graphics & designs of all sorts, play guitar, love photography and whatever else is in between... I was born in Hungary and lived in Hungary, Germany, Australia and the UK for a number of years. I speak German, English and a little Hungarian (I'm working on improving that one again!).

Leave a Reply

