Web 1.0 2.0 3.0… stop counting!!!

Ok, who doesn’t have a myspace account? It seems like most people have at least one account on that horrible and slow website. Some of your friends are on there and you probably keep in touch with them that way because email just doesn’t cut it anymore. And they are on there to keep in touch with someone else and so on… That’s all good. Many people I know complain about myspace (I’m one of them!) and how horrible it is to use and how cluttered it is with all kinds of crap. The other day I opened a friends page and it started playing audio of an mp3 player AND a video with sound at the same time.


Of course I hit -W as fast a possible. (sorry if the thing before the “W” shows up as something funky… it’s meant to be the Apple icon 😉 )
So what can be done? Myspace with that huge user-base will probably stay on top of all social networks for quite some time to come. There are a number of new services that seem to try to take the same idea, add a little spicy Javascript and go “out there”. Some better than others.
One of the more successful ones these days is facebook.com:
facebook
It’s very clean and seems to be well structured and efficient. Some features seem questionable. Like “gifts”, that users buy for 1$ (or slightly more) to put on a friends site. Which essentially is a banner. It seems odd to me that that money goes towards Facebook and not my friend. If I buy him a virtual beer, I want him to get my Paypal (or similar) payment and go out and actually buy it. An icon depicting a beer won’t make him drunk (or less thirsty).
So I just signed up to a third (or fourth? fifth? no idea) social networking site:
It’s called VIRB (what a quirky name) and it looks more glossy, more bubbly, more scripty and jumpy. First impression: very very nice and clean. A big plus so far is that you can integrate your flickr pictures. They should’ve added a function that searches the site using your msn contacts (I believe facebook had that feature but correct me if I’m wrong). So I signed up and I don’t know a single person on there and I need to find a way to find people I might know.
Ah what the heck, it’s worth a shot.
But first have to add my flickr account. A simple click forwards me to flickr where I accept the fact that virb will display my pics. That’s it! They show up on the profile. So what now? Oh yeah! The profile editor!!!
A piece of ajax goodness (like most of the site). you can simply drag and drop elements of the page or disable them with a click. Anyone ever did those weird myspace hacks where you mess with tables and create invalid more invalid (I know, it makes no sense 😉 ) pages. THIS is the way to do it!
Ok, let’s upload a profile image (one of my myspace images of course 😆 ). The uploader looks great (again). It worked too! But it felt weird as it was slow when I tried it. But it did the job fine and apparently you can even crop your images with it. Another plus!
You can add videos, music and a blog.
What was that??? A blog? YES!!! Who on earth uses all these sites with blog functions and posts to every single one of them? Maybe if you don’t have a job you could handle a few blogs but it seems useless. Virb has the perfect solution: You integrate your blog posts from any RSS/ATOM feed and they get imported. You have the option to enable comments or not…
So now my profile is set up and it only took me about 15 mins (plus the writing of course). Now all I need is friends 😆 Off to search for them or to invite them (who doesn’t love to get the invitations to all those new services? 😉 )

Published by

attilaacs

I've always been interested in all kinds of art because I felt the need to express myself in many different ways. I paint, draw, create 3D models, motion graphics & designs of all sorts, play guitar, love photography and whatever else is in between... I was born in Hungary and lived in Hungary, Germany, Australia and the UK for a number of years. I speak German, English and a little Hungarian (I'm working on improving that one again!).

2 thoughts on “Web 1.0 2.0 3.0… stop counting!!!”

  1. noooo, not another one!
    can somebody finally create a site that integrates and aggregates all of my social network accounts into one page?
    …or do we really have to make it our selves (next one after ****monkey)?

Leave a Reply

