Productivity at work

I’ve been working from 9-10am until about 2-3am every day with no weekends or days off. Sometimes I just take some time off and watch a movie or cook (or post here) and sometimes I just collapse and want to quit everything I’m working on (mainly study related work since other work generally is more fun to do and more “educational”).
My workplace is slightly more ergonomic than it used to be but it’s still very very improvised and temporary (plastic garden chair, anyone???). It extremely influences my productivity and put a decent chair and a height adjustable desk on top of my wish-list for when I come back to Australia. I simply can’t do it at the moment.
To try to accommodate for these long work hours and the bad conditions I started to use AntiRSI
It helps me to take breaks and if I use the mouse or keyboard continuously it forces me to take little 10 second breaks. The thing I love about AntiRSI is that the notification won’t distract from the app you’re working on. You can finish your thought in Word or Pages and take the break shortly after. And you can set the timing as well as the length of the main work breaks. I just set mine to 48 minutes of work followed by 12 minute breaks (The Power of 48 Minutes). Since I find that 90 minutes (my previous setting) was way too long. But I liked to do big chunks at once. However, it didn’t work out well. Let’s test the power of 48 minutes and at some stage get a proper chair and desk as well…

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

Published by

attilaacs

I've always been interested in all kinds of art because I felt the need to express myself in many different ways. I paint, draw, create 3D models, motion graphics & designs of all sorts, play guitar, love photography and whatever else is in between... I was born in Hungary and lived in Hungary, Germany, Australia and the UK for a number of years. I speak German, English and a little Hungarian (I'm working on improving that one again!).

Leave a comment