Annoyances – or: deleting databases for dummies…

I’m working on an edutainment assignment for college and i needed a test system with some nice analysis tool for the results. So as I’m trying out a few systems, I install one on www.tothebar.net (my rather empty research website/logbook/notebook) and after figuring out that it only works with php 5, I was annoyed.
Little did I know that it’s gonna be way worse! Installing that system using the only DB assigned to my webspace – while doing so it wiped the database before it created the necessary tables. Therefore it also wiped my WordPress installation on there… Great! Ok, maybe it was mentioned somewhere in the documentation but obviously not really clear enough. Why would you put a “table prefix” option into an installer if you wipe the DB anyway???
So having lost all my notes I was lucky that I purchased ecto a while ago (and used it on that site).
So after reinstalling the WordPress DB, I opened up ecto and exported all entries as xml (just in case it tries to sync with the empty one). Then I was able to recover the posts, one by one! But my pages and links are gone…
Yeah, maybe a DB backup would be a good idea next time… NEXT time.
oh yeah… Friday the 13th, eh??

Published by

attilaacs

I've always been interested in all kinds of art because I felt the need to express myself in many different ways. I paint, draw, create 3D models, motion graphics & designs of all sorts, play guitar, love photography and whatever else is in between... I was born in Hungary and lived in Hungary, Germany, Australia and the UK for a number of years. I speak German, English and a little Hungarian (I'm working on improving that one again!).

Leave a Reply

