Reviving my dead flickr account – about tagging content

I registered my flickr account almost a year ago but never got into using it. I still find no use for it since I have all my photos on my web-space and with iPhoto and the WebExport plug-in its extremely easy and fast to update the gallery.
So why did I start to use it? I just wanted to try it and give it a chance so that I understand what can be done with it. It might come in handy one day for a client or someone. Who knows?
However, using the Flickr Uploadr (what a stupid name) it’s quite fast and easy. Tagging, naming and describing every picture can get a bit tedious quickly. The price you pay for “Web 2.0” (what a stupid name again!) and all that “goodness”.


At this point I decided to use it as a separate random image for the sidebar as I don’t plan to replace my iPhoto/WebExport gallery yet.
Do you trust another company to host all you images?
Websites get all cluttered up using YouTube, Flickr and whatever service. Of course it makes it easy for everyone to publish his stuff.
Do we want to see everyone’s published crap?
As long as it’s tagged properly, it would be alright. Searching for my favorite blues song should show me a video of the artist playing his song. I’m over it to see some half naked guy with a guitar in his bedroom covering the tune I want to listen to. Just because he didn’t put the tag “cover” or anything similar into his posted video.

Published by

attilaacs

I've always been interested in all kinds of art because I felt the need to express myself in many different ways. I paint, draw, create 3D models, motion graphics & designs of all sorts, play guitar, love photography and whatever else is in between... I was born in Hungary and lived in Hungary, Germany, Australia and the UK for a number of years. I speak German, English and a little Hungarian (I'm working on improving that one again!).

2 thoughts on “Reviving my dead flickr account – about tagging content”

  1. Or you could post your photo galleries to Flickr using the iPhoto Flickr Export plugin and install one of the numerous WordPress Flickr plugins, to have a new gallery added to your blog automatically whenever you upload new pics – like I did on my site http://blog.no-panic.at/photos .
    Adding to that you’d make all of your photos more accessible by having them on Flickr and displaying them here (some people might never find your blog 😉 )
    btw. if you choose to implement a favicon on your blog I might link to it in my sidebar *g*

  2. AFAIK, the Flickr Export plug-in costs $$ and I’m saving for CS3 haha
    I think I’ll look into it if this Flickr deal keeps going and I find a good way to categorize my pics and all that.
    Thx for the hint about the missing favicon! Just added… 😀

Leave a Reply

